Skip to main content

Elections 2021: See Our Complete List of Municipal Endorsements

Social share icons
We are pleased to announce our endorsements for Mayoral, City Council, and School Committee races for 2021.

The WMALF is excited to endorse candidates who support our vision: public investments that benefit the community and workers; safe and dignified work for all; strong public schools; policies that support workers’ right to organize; responsible economic development that shares benefits with workers; and other policies that create a better life for all working people of Western Mass. We encourage all Western Mass voters to cast their vote for labor’s endorsed candidates this November 2nd because of their strong positions in support of policies that benefit working people.

Endorsed Candidates:


Springfield City Council, At-Large

·     Jesse Lederman, MTA member: Website

·     Justin Hurst: Website

·     James Ryan, MTA Member: Website

Springfield City Council, Ward 3

·     Melvin Edwards: Website

Springfield City Council, Ward 4

·     Jynai McDonald, SEIU 509 Staff: Facebook

Springfield City Council, Ward 6

·     Victor Davila, OPEIU 6 member: Website

Springfield City Council, Ward 8

·     Zaida Govan: Website

Springfield School Committee, At-Large

·     LaTonia Naylor: Facebook

·     Denise Hurst: Website

Springfield School Committee District 4 (Ward 2 & 8)

·     Ayanna Crawford: Website


Northampton School Committee:

·     Aline Davis: Donation Page

·     Meg Robbins, Ward 1: Facebook

·     Emily Serafy-Cox, Ward 3: Facebook

Smith Vocational Board of Trustees:

·     Julie Spencer-Robinson: available by email at

Northampton City Council, Ward 4

·     Jesse Hassinger: Website

Northampton Mayor

·     Gina-Louise Sciarra: Website


Holyoke City Council Ward 5

·     Guy O’Donnell: Website

Holyoke Mayor

·     Josh Garcia, Website


·     Owen Zaret, At-Large City Council, Website

·     Brad Riley, At-Large City Council, Website


·     Sheila Gilmour: Greenfield City Council, Precinct 6 – University Staff Association, MTA member

·     Douglas Mayo: Greenfield City Council- Precinct 8

·     Glen Johnson-Mussad: Greenfield School Committee, Facebook

·     Kathryn Martini: Greenfield School Committee, SEIU 509 member, Facebook

·     Elizabeth DeNeeve: Greenfield School Committee, Facebook



·     Joel McAuliffe: Chicopee City Council, Ward 1, Website

·     Mary-Beth Pniak-Costello: Chicopee City Council, Ward 9, Website

·     Shirley Arriaga: City Council At-Large, Website

·     Tim Wagner: Chicopee School Committee, Ward 1, Facebook


·     Anthony Russo: Agawam City Council, Member Bricklayers Local 3

·     Tom Hendrickson: Agawam City Council, Member UAW local 2322, Website


·     Pete White: Pittsfield City Council At-Large, Member SEIU Local 509, Facebook

·     Vicky Smith: Pittsfield School Committee At-Large


·     Jeff Gosselin: Westfield School Committee, Member Northampton Association of School Employees (NASE) MTA